The Hill Palace is one of the major palaces of Kerala built by the erstwhile rulers of the state. It was the residence of the kings of the state of Cochin from the last decade of the 19th century till the middle of the 20th century.
The Department Of Archaeology of Kerala state Government took over the charge of the palace in 1980 and later it was converted into a museum in 1984. The museum was first opened to public in 1986. The objects collected from Cochin Royal House and the Department of Archaeology is displayed in the museum. Initially it has 11 galleries and now the galleries increased to 18.
The entire ambience of the palace is beautiful. A deer park was located adjacent to the palace which was started to add beauty to this archeological site. The Hill palace is perched on the top of a hill surrounded by spectacular gardens. The oldest building of palace was built around 1850 AD in traditional Kerala style architecture. Other buildings are fusion of traditional and western architecture.
Galleries of the Museum :
The main galleries of the museum are Cabinet Hall, Portrait Gallery, Wood Carvings Gallery, Jewellery Gallery, Gallery of Porcelain, Epigraphy Gallery, Numismatic Gallery, Folklore and Folk Arts, Bronze and Metal Ware Gallery, etc. The artifacts are varied collecting from nook and corner of Cochin Royal house and entire Kerala.
Facts of the Museum :
Archaeological Museum, Hill Palace,
Area : 52.65 acres
12 Km east of Ernakulam on
2 km East of Thripunithara
Railway station : Thripunithura. (Local), Ernakulam South (Main)
Bus station : Municipal Bus Stand, Thripunithura
Air Port : Nedumbassery International Air Port, Kochi
Working days and time : Tuesday to Sunday, 09.00.A.M to 04.30.P.M
Children’s Park : 09 A.M to 06. P.M
Holidays : All Mondays and National Holidays
More great attractions can be found in the Explore historical places in India page.